èƵ

Skip navigation
  •  StudentsKorean
  •  StudentsKoreanPolish
  •  StudentsKoreanPolishSpanish
  •  StudentsKoreanPolishSpanishTagalog
Extraordinary Lives Start With a Great Catholic Education

School Year Calendar


​ċċċċċċċċċ

​ċċċċ

 

 Catalog-Item Reuse ‭[1]‬

school-year-calendar

​ċċċ2023-2024 School Year Calendar (Ministry Approved)
2023-2024 School Hours

2023-2024 School Year Calendar


First day of classes Elementary and Secondary Schools   Tuesday, September 5, 2023
First Day of classes Semester Two Secondary                   Friday, February 2, 2024
School Year ends Elementary and Secondary Schools      Friday, June 28, 2024
Number of school days for the 2022-2023 school year    194
Number of Instructional Days in Elementary Schools       187
Number of Instructional Days in Secondary Schools        187
Number of Professional Activity Days in Elementary Schools    7
Number of Professional Activity Days in Secondary Schools     ​7

School Holidays for the 2023-24 School Year


Every Saturday and Sunday
Labour DayMonday, September 4, 2023
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9, 2023
Christmas Break  Monday, December 25, 2023 to Friday, January 5, 2024 (inclusive) 
Family DayMonday, February 19, 2024
Mid-Winter Break Monday, March 11, 2024 to Friday, March 15, 2024 (inclusive)
Good Friday Friday, March 29, 2024
Easter Monday Monday, April 1, 2024
Victoria DayMonday, May 20, 2024


Professional Activity Days

Elementary Schools  

1.  Monday, September 18, 2023    Principal's Day: Reorganization/Faith Development
2.  Friday, October 6, 2023               Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context
3.  Friday, November 24, 2023         Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context
4.  Monday, January 22, 2024 ​         Term 1 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress
5.  Friday, February 16, 2024           Reporting to Parents
6.  Friday, May 17, 2024                   Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context
7.  Monday, June 10, 2024              ​ Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

​St. Sofia School ONLY 

1.  Friday, October 6, 2023              Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Contex​t
2.  Friday, November 24, 2023        Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context​
3.  Monday, January 22, 2024         Term 1 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress
4.  Friday, February 16, 2024 ​          Reporting to Parents
5.  Friday, May 3, 2024                      Principal's Day: Faith Development
6.  Friday, May 17, 2024                    Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context​
7.  Monday, June 10, 2024                Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

Secondary Schools

1.  Friday, October 6, 2023               Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Contex​t
2.  Friday, November 24, 2023        Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context​
3.  Thursday, February 1, 2024       ​Principal’s Day:  Semester Turnaround     
4.  Friday, May 17, 2024                   Provincial Priorities in a Catholic Context​
5.  Wednesday, June 26, 2024        *Principal’s Day:  Year End Reporting and Activities
6.  Thursday, June 27, 2024            *Principal’s Day:  Year End Reporting and Activities
7.  Friday, June 28, 2024                  *Principal’s Day:  Year End Reporting and Activities

Secondary Schools - Examination Days

Semester 1:  January 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 2024    January 31, 2024 - Instructional Day - Examination Review
Semester 2:  June 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 2024          June 25, 2024 - Instructional Day - Examination Review

*Semester and year end evaluations and school-wide promotion meetings; contact parents with summer school recommendations, OSR and report card preparation; inventory management of books, equipment, learning materials; curriculum development for new course outlines; goal setting for the upcoming school year.

   ​

back to top